Tally-Ho!

3-to-1-days
1953 Tally-Ho

As a student assistant in Special Collections, one of my projects this summer was to go through our inventory of duplicate yearbooks in preparation for a digitization project. Beginning with our earliest yearbook, the 1901 Argo, and continuing through with the Flastacowo, Tally-Ho, Artifacts, and finishing with the Renegade, I picked out the most pristine copies void of extensive writing, cut out pictures, and missing pages. What I found throughout my search was much more than digitization-ready pages but a student history defined by humor and personality.

sarah-hambly
1955 Tally-Ho

I came across many pictures that, more or less, slowed down my progress because they were so entertaining to me! I am sharing a few of my favorites here.

fade-o-meter
Fade-Ometer used to test fabrics, 1952 Tally-Ho

With that said, a gap seemed to close on the differences between today’s FSU community and that of over a century ago. I enjoyed witnessing the certain eagerness that accompanied new technologies and advancements within the campus, such as the Fade-Ometer from 1952.

Though the styles and trends consistently fluctuated as the years progressed, I found validation in the fact that FSU has and will continue to foster an overwhelming spirit carried on through the students whose paths have led them through this institution.

sunshine
1969 Tally-Ho

I’m very excited about this project and cannot wait for others to enjoy these yearbooks as much as I did when they become available as an online resource.

I have worked at Special Collections for two years and am pursuing my Masters of Science in Library and Information Studies. I will be transferring to Heritage Protocol as a Graduate Assistant and am thrilled to continue working with materials regarding the history of FSU.

2 thoughts on “Tally-Ho!

  1. QUESTION: I am looking for access to TALLYHOs 1949 until it stopped publication. Are they available for viewing and photocopying pages with fraternity composites if I were to visit the library?

    1. Don,

      Thank you for your interest in our blog. In answer to your question, we do have copies of our yearbooks available in the Special Collections Reading Room. You are more than welcome to visit and view them and photograph them as needed. The Special Collections Reading Room is open Monday through Thursday 10 am until 6 pm, Friday 10 am until 3 pm, and by appointment.

      If you would prefer to view the yearbooks online, they are available at Archive.org at the following link:
      http://www.archive.org/details/floridastateuniversity
      From the link, you can choose to view by year, then view online or as a PDF. This will allow you to view and download images from the yearbooks at home.

      I hope this answers your questions.

      Have a wonderful day.
      FSU Special Collections and Archives
      (Kat Bell)

Leave a Reply

